Washington Commission Merchants Act
Produce as well as other products such as poultry, seed, mint and mint oil, hay and grain.
Who is Protected?
Washington growers and producers.
Who is Subject to the Law?
Washington commission merchants, dealers, limited dealers, brokers, and cash buyers.
None specified, but amount of recovery is reduced by 5% if the claim is made between 30 and 180 days of the date payment was due and reduced by 10% if the claim is made more than 180 days of the date payment was due.
Where are Claims Filed?
Commission Merchants Program of the Washington State Department of Agriculture.
Is there a Bond Requirement?
Yes, licensees must be bonded. The amount of the bond is $10,000 and the bond amount is tied to the volume of sales.